Read The Singing Sands by Josephine Tey Free Online

Ebook The Singing Sands by Josephine Tey read! Book Title: The Singing Sands
The author of the book: Josephine Tey
Edition: Scribner Paperback Fiction
Date of issue: December 16th 1996
ISBN: 0684818922
ISBN 13: 9780684818924
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 4.27 MB
City - Country: No data
Loaded: 1084 times
Reader ratings: 4.8

Read full description of the books:

On sick leave from Scotland Yard, Inspector Alan Grant is planning a quiet holiday with an old school chum to recover from overwork and mental fatigue. Traveling on the night train to Scotland, however, Grant stumbles upon a dead man and a cryptic poem about 'the stones that walk' and 'the singing sand, ' which send him off on a fascinating search into the verse's meaning and the identity of the deceased. Grant needs just this sort of casual inquiry to quiet his jangling nerves, despite his doctor's orders. But what begins as a leisurely pastime eventually turns into a full-blown investigation that leads Grant to discover not only the key to the poem but the truth about a most diabolical murder

Download The Singing Sands PDF The Singing Sands PDF
Download The Singing Sands ERUB The Singing Sands PDF
Download The Singing Sands DOC The Singing Sands PDF
Download The Singing Sands TXT The Singing Sands PDF

Read information about the author

Ebook The Singing Sands read Online! Josephine Tey was a pseudonym of Elizabeth Mackintosh. Josephine was her mother's first name and Tey the surname of an English Grandmother. As Josephine Tey, she wrote six mystery novels including Scotland Yard's Inspector Alan Grant.

The first of these, 'The Man in the Queue' (1929) was published under the pseudonym of Gordon Daviot , whose name also appears on the title page of another of her 1929 novels, 'Kit An Unvarnished History'. She also used the Daviot by-line for a biography of the 17th century cavalry leader John Graham, which was entitled 'Claverhouse' (1937).

Mackintosh also wrote plays (both one act and full length), some of which were produced during her lifetime, under the pseudonym Gordon Daviot. The district of Daviot, near her home of Inverness in Scotland, was a location her family had vacationed. The name Gordon does not appear in either her family or her history.

Elizabeth Mackintosh came of age during World War I, attending Anstey Physical Training College in Birmingham, England during the years 1915-1918. Upon graduation, she became a physical training instructor for eight years. In 1926, her mother died and she returned home to Inverness to care for her invalid father. Busy with household duties, she turned to writing as a diversion, and was successful in creating a second career.

Alfred Hitchcock filmed one of her novels, 'A Shilling for Candles' (1936) as 'Young and Innocent' in 1937 and two other of her novels have been made into films, 'The Franchise Affair' (1948), filmed in 1950, and 'Brat Farrar' (1949), filmed as 'Paranoiac' in 1963. In addition a number of her works have been dramatised for radio.

Her novel 'The Daughter of Time' (1951) was voted the greatest mystery novel of all time by the Crime Writers' Association in 1990.

Miss Mackintosh never married, and died at the age of 55, in London. A shy woman, she is reported to have been somewhat of a mystery even to her intimate friends. While her death seems to have been a surprise, there is some indication she may have known she was fatally ill for some time prior to her passing.

Reviews of the The Singing Sands


There are some interesting pages


A useful book to free yourself from negative emotions and joy.


The book has disappointed, little new, lots of water!


I really hated the book.


Not when you can say the book is better.

Add a comment

Download EBOOK The Singing Sands by Josephine Tey Online free

PDF: the-singing-sands.pdf The Singing Sands PDF
ERUB: the-singing-sands.epub The Singing Sands ERUB
DOC: the-singing-sands.doc The Singing Sands DOC
TXT: the-singing-sands.txt The Singing Sands TXT