Read The Bitten Word by Ian Whates Free Online

Ebook The Bitten Word by Ian Whates read! Book Title: The Bitten Word
The author of the book: Ian Whates
Edition: NewCon Press
Date of issue: March 26th 2010
ISBN: 1907069070
ISBN 13: 9781907069079
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 28.84 MB
City - Country: No data
Loaded: 1010 times
Reader ratings: 7.8

Read full description of the books:

From modern suburbia to the baking deserts of Africa, from the foggy streets of old London to the grand homes of Antwerp, from an alternative world where vampires have ‘come out’ to vampirism among a society of sentient insects, from ravening hordes of the undead to skulking haunters of the night… Here There Be Vampires!

Seventeen original tales of vampires as you’ve never seen them before…

1. Ian Whates -- Introduction
2. Simon Clark – Vampithecus
3. Kelley Armstrong – Young Bloods
4. Sarah Singleton – A Winter’s Tale
5. Gary McMahon – Those Damned Kids
6. Storm Constantine – Where the Vampires Live
7. John Kaiine – English Spoken
8. Chaz Brenchley – Hothouse Flowers
9. Nancy Kilpatrick – Traditions in Future Perfect
10. Andrew Hook – Red or White
11. Freda Warrington – Fall of the House of Blackwater
12. Tanith Lee – Taken at His Word
13. Kari Sperring – Cold Rush
14. Donna Scott – Lord of the Lyceum
15. Sam Stone – Fool’s Gold
16. Jon Courtenay Grimwood – Wuthering Bites
17. Ian Whates – The Abomination of Beauty
18. Gail Z Martin – Vanities
19. Ian Watson – My Vampire Cake* (*Available only in the special signed limited edition)

Download The Bitten Word PDF The Bitten Word PDF
Download The Bitten Word ERUB The Bitten Word PDF
Download The Bitten Word DOC The Bitten Word PDF
Download The Bitten Word TXT The Bitten Word PDF

Read information about the author

Ebook The Bitten Word read Online! Ian Whates lives in a comfortable home down a quiet cul-de-sac in an idyllic Cambridgeshire village, which he shares with his partner Helen and their pets – Honey the golden cocker spaniel, Calvin the tailless black cat and Inky the goldfish (sadly, Binky died a few years ago).

Ian’s earliest memories of science fiction are fragmented. He remembers loving Dr Who from an early age and other TV shows such as Lost in Space and Star Trek, but a defining moment came when he heard a radio adaptation of John Wyndham’s The Chrysalids. From that moment on he was hooked and became a frequent haunter of the local library, voraciously devouring the contents of their SF section.

This early love of science fiction manifested most tellingly during his school days, when he produced an SF murder mystery as homework after being set the essay title “The Language of Shakespeare”, much to the bemusement of his English teacher.

Ian’s first published stories appeared in the late 1980s in small press magazines such as Dream and New Moon Quarterly, after which he took a break from writing in order to research his chosen fields of science fiction and fantasy. In other words, he read copious amounts of both. Clearly the research was extensive, because he published nothing further for some seventeen years. In the early 2000s he made the decision to pursue writing seriously, joining the Northampton SF Writers Group in 2004 after being introduced to its chairman, Ian Watson.

In 2006 he started submitting stories again, and has subsequently been surprised at how many otherwise eminently sensible people have chosen to publish him. A couple have even appeared in the science journal Nature, and one, “The Gift of Joy”, even found its way onto the five-strong shortlist for best short story in the British Science Fiction Association Awards. And it didn’t come last! Ironically, the award was actually won by Ken MacLeod’s “Lighting Out”, a piece Ian had commissioned, edited and published in the NewCon Press anthology disLOCATIONS (2007).

In 2006 Ian launched independent publisher NewCon Press, quite by accident (buy him a pint sometime and he’ll tell you about it). Through NewCon he has been privileged to publish original stories from some of the biggest names in genre fiction, as well as provide debuts to some genuinely talented newcomers. The books, their covers and contents have racked up an impressive array of credits – four BSFA Awards, one BSF Award to date, inclusion in ‘Year’s Best’ anthologies and recommendations and honourable mentions from the likes of Gardner Dozios and Locus magazine.

In addition to his publishing and writing, Ian is currently a director of both the Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA) and the British Science Fiction Association (BSFA), editing Matrix, the online news and media reviews magazine, for the latter.

His first two completed novels are both due to appear in early 2010: City of Dreams and Nightmare via Harper Collins’ imprint Angry Robot, and The Noise Within from Rebellion imprint Solaris, with sequels to follow. When not pinching himself to make sure this is all really happening, Ian is currently beavering away at the sequels… honest!

Reviews of the The Bitten Word


A book that leaves a whole bunch of emotions after reading


The most favorite book of all books


I never liked the book.


Phone number you need to drive to protect against robots.


Just a terrific book.

Add a comment

Download EBOOK The Bitten Word by Ian Whates Online free

PDF: the-bitten-word.pdf The Bitten Word PDF
ERUB: the-bitten-word.epub The Bitten Word ERUB
DOC: the-bitten-word.doc The Bitten Word DOC
TXT: the-bitten-word.txt The Bitten Word TXT